Saltar a: Contenido ��� | Pie de la página ��� | Menú principal ���


Shapiro, Robert

Les Six: The French Composers and Their Mentors Jean Cocteau and Erik Satie

  • Editorial: Peter Owen
  • Páginas: 472
  • Año: 2011
  • Precio: 38.40 €
  • EAN: 9780720612936

The absorbing, comprehensive story of an absolutely unique experiment in classical music, involving many key figures of the Dada and Surrealist movements"" "Les Six "were a group of talented composers who came together in a unique collaboration that has never been matched in classical music, and here their remarkable story is told for the first time. A musical experiment originally conceived by Erik Satie and then built upon by Jean Cocteau, "Les Six "were also born out of the shock of the German invasion of France in 1914--an avant-garde riposte to German romanticism and Wagnerism. "Les Six "were all--and still are--respected in music circles, but under the aegis of Cocteau, they found themselves moving among a whole new milieu: the likes of Picasso, Rene Clair, Blaise Cendrars, and Maurice Chevalier all appear in the story. But the story of "Les Six "goes on long after the heyday of Bohemian Paris--the group never officially disbanded and it was only in the last 20 years that the last member died; moreover, their spouses, descendents, and associates are still active, ensuring that the remarkable legacy of this unique group survives.

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar nuestros servicios y mostrarle publicidad relacionada con sus preferencias mediante el análisis de sus hábitos de navegación. Si continúa navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Puede cambiar la configuración u obtener más información en nuestra "Política de cookies".

Saltar a: Contenido ��� | Pie de la página ��� | Menú principal ���